top of page
Search
  • alisbooknookcorner

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

Upstate New York, 1982. Viv Delaney wants to move to New York City, and to help pay for it she takes a job as the night clerk at the Sun Down Motel in Fell, New York. But something isn't right at the motel, something haunting and scary.


Upstate New York, 2017. Carly Kirk has never been able to let go of the story of her aunt Viv, who mysteriously disappeared from the Sun Down before she was born. Carly decides to move to Fell and visit the motel, where she quickly learns that nothing has changed since 1982. And she soon finds herself ensnared in the same mysteries that claimed her aunt.


 

Carly Kirk never knew her Aunt Viv, she disappeared before Carly was born, but Carly has heard stories and only knows that her aunt disappeared one day without a trace. Carly looking for answers to her aunt’s disappearance leaves college and goes to the last place Viv was seen, a place called the Sun Down Motel. Carly soon finds herself a place to stay, a new friend just as invested in Viv's disappearance, and lands the same overnight job as Viv at the Sun Down Motel. Carly soon learns things are not as they seem at the Sun Down Motel, strange things start to happen at night, leading Carly down a path that unravels secrets buried for the past 35 years . . . Secrets that change everything. A rollercoaster of mystery and horror leading to a shocking ending!


I've never read a novel by Simone St. James before, and I am so sorry I didn't! This was a tense read keeping me on the edge of my seat from the first page. There were ghosts, mystery, and spine-chilling horror. I love a good ghost story yet have found it difficult to find good ghost stories that do not come off clique. St. James did a superb job blending ghosts and mystery to make this truly terrifying tale come to life. The setting of the motel was perfect, giving off a real-life eerie feeling. I could not help but think back on some motels I've passed in my life that reminded me of this one. The ghosts speckled throughout were introduced nicely, not overwhelming the story or taking over the character's stories but bringing wholeness to it all. The ghosts had depth, detail, and each had a unique backstory that flowed effortlessly with the plot. The protagonist Carly was a strong female lead who showed strength, wit, and determination in finding out the truth behind her Aunt Viv's disappearance. Viv was also a strong female character, oozing smarts, and her determination in solving a mystery. This novel flipped between present time with Carly and the past with Viv, such layouts are often confusing, but St. James proves that she has a talent for weaving two-time eras together to make a bolder complete story. I could not put this book down . . . I was set on finding out what happened next to Carly and Viv, I had no idea what to expect.


I do not have many complaints about this read, I found it engaging, mysterious, spooky, and page-turning. (Without spoilers) There is a scene near the end when Carly finds out the truth about her Aunt Viv that I wasn't a huge fan of. I found this event shocking, but also flat, after Carly finds out the truth it seemed Viv's character was forgotten as if St. James was not sure where to go from that point on. I was a bit disappointed with that aspect, but it was not a big enough turn-off to make me rate or enjoy this novel any less. I genuinely look forward to reading more from St. James as I find her to have a grand talent for writing stories that will give you chills. It is a wonderfully creepy story that I could not get enough of.


I would highly recommend this novel to you if you enjoyed horror, mysteries, or a good ghost tale. This novel truly had it all regarding terror, I am not one to get spooked easily, but this read gave me chills a few times. Horror junkies will devour this novel!


 

https://amzn.to/3io8P6j

(Click the Amazon link above to get your copy now!)


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page